Skip to content

How could I miss this?

July 23, 2010

I have been trying to figure out my lack of motivation for some time now, and I finally had my “Aha!” moment last night while reading this article.  While, this article is hilarious, especially for those of us who have lived to see a little more than Vanilla Ice and Milli Vanilli, it was #4 that caught me off guard.  Even though a number of people have told me a million times, all of a sudden I was like “Wait, you mean making big changes like losing weight, means you HAVE to suffer?  Changes aren’t a pleasing fun experience?  There’s no magic pill? Shit, I have to buckle down and make myself, even if it hurts. Damnit, why isn’t there an easy button?!”
I’m just lazy people!  I want the easy way out, and I’m not afraid to admit it.  Hard work sucks!  If it’s not fun, I don’t wanna.
This laziness has pretty much permeated through every part of my life, my work, my weight loss, my, dare I say it, submission.  I have totally allowed Facebook to suck the life out of me, because building a farm is WAY more fun than writing a review.  I spent an assload of money to buy a Wii, just so I could have the Wii Fit Plus, but damnit, I get sore when I use it.  Surely there’s a magic weight loss pill out there (there’s really not, I’ve bought them ALL).
Kris and I used to keep something of an argument journal, way back when.  It was a couple of years ago, and it actually worked very well to keep my temper in check.  Gawd, it’s so much easier to throw a fit and scream until he gives up, rather than having to think about and choose my words.
Sometimes it totally amazes me how I can sit on my throne and preach all day, and give good advice to both my children and friends, but somehow it all slips past ME, the one who needs it the most!  WTF!
Well I can say this much, a very good friend of mine will elated to know, that I have received my glasses and I can now read the writing on the wall.  It says, “Suck it up buttercup!”.  I guess that means it’s time for me to do something about it, instead of waiting patiently for everything to fall in my lap.  No more procrastinating, no more organizing and reorganizing, I’m going to just jump in where I am, and hope to gawd, I didn’t forget how to swim or at least float.  Time to suffer Cin.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2010 12:56 pm

    We all suffer from laziness every so often. I’m sure you’ll get your butt in check soon. =)

  2. Mr. Google permalink
    July 23, 2010 1:56 pm

    I wish I could write like the authors on Cracked.com.

    I know exactly how you feel and I think it’s completely natural. I would go so far as to say it’s probably justified. If you work somewhere that doesn’t provide inspiration or incentive, your drive will just shut down and give you just enough energy to complete the very minimum of your assignments.

    I fight laziness with hobbies like playing sports, volunteering or writing blogs. And as for the weight thing, bodies weren’t meant to sit around all day. If you have a job that requires that there is very little you can do to become a healthy person. Eating well is a good first step but you have to find a way to get mobile throughout the day. When I was a student in college just walking to class three times a day was enough exercise to keep me fit. Good luck with ameliorating your laziness situation, but don’t worry – you’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

